greenish girl


“It is a good rule in life never to apologize. The right sort of people do not want apologies, and the wrong sort take a mean advantage of them.” — P. G. Wodehouse*
December 5, 2009, 5:53 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My profound apologies for not blogging yesterday.  I don’t really have a good excuse except that I was baking cookies which brings me to:

Greenish Christmas Tip #6 (I think?): Bake your own cookies instead of buying them from the store.  I know, I know, I told you the other day that we need to breathe and take time just for ourselves, but if you do have time, then baking your own cookies is really fun.  You can get the whole family involved, pick whatever kind of cookies you want to bake and then, best of all, bake them your way – as opposed to accepting imperfect cookies from a store.  Plus you’ll save on over-packaged boxes of cookies – win/win!

Anyway, as compensation for not blogging yesterday, here’s a little scrapbook of baking the cookies.  (I was thinking of you, dear readers, fear not!)

Here’s the dough just before scooping it onto the pan:

Here’s the cookies on the pan, pre-baking (excuse the blur):

Here’s the cookies baking in the oven, and yes I know it’s kind of a strange picture.  I did my best, people!

And here’s the final product! (Actually, it’s only about half the cookies; I didn’t feel like waiting for the rest to bake before taking pictures…)

There, now I feel better about not posting yesterday.  Now, on to today’s…

Greenish Christmas Tip #7: Buy a local Christmas tree!  This morning, I worked at a Christmas Tree Sale at my school (note: the cookies were for our baked goods table.  see? it all fits together!), and we sold local trees and wreathes, and let me tell you, there were really nice.  They had pretty fair prices, too; cheaper than a lot of our “competition” in the area.  So, basically, our trees (and wreathes) were cheaper, which is good for you; local, which is good for your area; and traveled less, which is good for the environment – win/win/win!  (Bonus: what TV show used the phrase win/win/win in an episode not-so-very-recently?)

*Note: I’m not saying I necessarily agree with this, but it was the best quote I could find relating to apologies.  Plus it’s intriguing and attention-grabbing, so it works.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

