greenish girl


“The last straw breaks the camel’s back.” — English Proverb*
December 1, 2009, 10:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Greenish Christmas Tip #3: (note the color-coordinated straws…very snazzy, if I do say so myself…)

acid green bendy straws by Rakka.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rakka/ / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

This may seem pretty fluffy and ridiculous, but I think it’s actually a good idea.  The other day (Black Friday, in fact), I went out to lunch with some friends, and I ordered a lemonade.  The lemonade was in a disposable plastic cup with a lid (I know!  I know, this is  ridiculously awful for the environment.  But you can’t do everything perfectly.)  I was reaching for a straw when I realized that I really didn’t need one at all.  Why take a plastic straw in a plastic wrapper to simply drink a beverage?  I’m perfectly capable of managing without one, especially if I’m eating at the restaraunt, sitting down, not driving or even walking around.  So, long story short, try not using a plastic straw!  It may not seem like much, but over time, you can save a lot of plastic and therefore trash from entering landfills.  On that note, happy Christmas.

*No, this was not spoken by a person named “English Proverb.”  It’s just a proverb that happens to be English.  I have no idea where it came from.  Although, come to think of it, that would be an interesting name.  But I’m pretty sure it’s not the name of the person who originally said/wrote it.  Almost definitely sure.  If it was those, well, that’s pretty cool…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] me and realize it’s really stupid and then don’t ever take my advice again?  What if I continue writing about straws and you decide to stop reading my blog?  This is serious stuff, people.  Trust me.  So, anyway, […]

Pingback by “A lot of people like snow. I find it to be an unnecessary freezing of water.” — Carl Reiner* « greenish girl




Leave a Reply

